The Wrap Up: 2016 VicSRC Recognition Awards!

An incredible night for student voice as we celebrate the students, teachers and schools working tirelessly to transform education in Victoria.

Drawing together over 250 students, family members, sponsors, stakeholders and government representatives, the 6th Recognition Awards set the bar incredibly high! Held at the Village at NAB, the event celebrated best practice in student voice and student-led action in Victoria. 

The finalists

With 63 nominations from 47 schools, our judging panel was blown away by quality of the candidates and the genuine engagement with student voice. It took our dedicated judging panel hours of deliberation to select our outstanding finalists. 

A special congratulations go to:


Group Action Award

Winner: Emerald Secondary College

Runner up: Nossal High School

Second runner up: Rural Youth Ambassadors


Pearson Australia Teacher of the Year Award 

Winner: Zack Pretlove, Melbourne Girl’s College

Runner up: Kristie Satilmis, Auburn High School

Second runner up: Sonya Gregorio, Barwon Valley Special Development School


Newsboys Foundation Youth Leadership Award

Winner: Kelly Phan, Bendigo Senior Secondary College

Runner ups:Thomas Velican, Nossal High School & Kristen Sellings, Yarram Secondary College


Department of Education and Training SRC of the Year - Primary Schools Award

Winner: Coatesville Primary School

Runner up: Swan Hill Primary School

Second runner up: Rosanna Primary School


Department of Education and Training SRC of the Year - Secondary Schools Award

Winner: Mount Waverley Secondary College

Runner up: Bendigo Senior Secondary College

Second runner ups: Mount Alexander College and Braybrook College

Student voice draws a crowd

We were joined by over 30 supporters and like-minded organisations. The 2016 VicSRC Recognition Awards was a fantastic and moving celebration of the power of student voice to transform our education system for the better. We are reminded that, although the Recognition Awards is only one night a year, it is representative of the work teachers and students put in every day, 365 days a year, as champions of student voice all over Victoria.

The Minister for Education, James Merlino MP, gave the opening address, recalling his positive experiences at local schools and his belief in the importance of student voice. Following Minister Merlino's inspiring words, our student MCs, Rocky Sadeghi and Spencer Davis, introduced our audience to our two keynote speakers, Chloe Laurel and William Wilson. Chloe and William inspired us with their retelling of Malala Yousafzai’s story of raising our voices. They reminded us that we do not need a Nobel Peace Prize to shape education, celebrating the everyday heroes working tirelessly in classrooms all over Victoria to transform education for the better.  

View the speech here - it's a fantastic read!

Time and time again, our finalists blew us away profound commitment to student voice. There was a strong sense in the room that we are all connected and part of something bigger; that together, we are powerful. 

We are so proud of the student action, advocacy and leadership taking place in every corner of the state. Check out all the winning videos for ideas and inspiration!


Join the roar of student voices

Student voice is critical in education. Research tells us that when students are given a meaningful role in shaping their education, magic happens. The VicSRC Recognition Awards give us a chance to hear the stories of teachers and students from Bendigo to Swan Hill, Braybrook to Yarram. This night is about valuing the collective genius of teachers, parents and most importantly, students. The Recognition Awards showcase schools all over the state that are creating a cultural shift. Our vision is that all students, regardless of their location or background, are recognised as the experts of their education.

This event could not have happened without the generous support of our sponsors. A massive thanks goes to the Department of Education and Training, under the leadership of Minister for Education James Merlino MP, the Newsboys Foundation and Pearson Australia for their fantastic support of the VicSRC Recognition Awards.

We welcome any and all feedback. If you were part of the Recognition Awards this year, please complete short survey to help us make next year’s celebration even bigger and better: share your feedback via SurveyMonkey

Students are at the centre of everything we do. We’ve come so far, and we’re so driven by how far we can go together. Keep the stories and the action and the advocacy coming.

When we challenge expectations of what students can do, the possibilities are limitless!


eNews Subscribe

Membership & Partnership 

Join us!