The Wrap Up: 2015 VicSRC Recognition Awards!

An incredible night for student voice as we celebrate the students, teachers and schools making big change in the world we live in.

Congratulations to the winners of the 2015 VicSRC Recognition Awards

Within the bluestone walls of Melbourne icon, the State Library of Victoria, more than 150 special guests stepped into the open Courtyard to celebrate best practice in student voice, leadership and participation in Victoria. The State Library holds thousands upon thousands of stories, and on a warm evening on Thursday 29th October, we added one more. Like most good stories, this one has a host of colourful characters, twists and turns, and more than a few superheros. 

Chapter 1: Setting the scene

59 nominations. 34 schools. 1 Minister for Education. Over 150 friends, family and supporters all joining the roar of student voices. We were joined by supporters, like-minded organisations, government representatives, tireless teachers and principals, and most importantly – students. The 2015 VicSRC Recognition Awards was a fantastic and moving celebration of the power of student voice to transform our education system for the better. 

The Minister for Education James Merlino MP gave the opening address, recalling his experiences at Congress 2015 and his belief in the importance of student empowerment. Following Minister Merlino's kind words, our student MCs, Simana Latu and Thomas Velican, introduced our audience to Matty Sievers as the Bendigo Senior Secondary College student made the keynote address. It's fair to say that he keenly captured the spirit of the night and reminded us that when students are heard, when our voices are listened to and encouraged, the change is remarkable. View the speech here - it's a fantastic read!

Chapter 2: Defying expectations

Time and time again, our finalists blew us away profound commitment to student voice. There was a strong sense in the room that we are all connected and part of something bigger; that together, we are powerful. 

More than one tear was shed, many laughs had and more than a few sore hands were felt from clapping as we celebrated our incredible finalists. They came from all across the state with incredible stories. From Bendigo to Ballarat, Frankston to Swan Hill, we are so proud of the student action, advocacy and leadership taking place in every corner of the state. Check out all the winning videos for ideas and inspiration!

Congratulations to:

Group Action Award
Winner: Winters Flat Primary School
Runner up: Ave Maria College
Second runner up: Mount Waverley Secondary College

Outstanding SRC of the Year Award
Winner: Sandringham East Primary School
Runner up: Sacred Heart College Geelong
Second runner up: Bendigo Senior Secondary College

SRC Teacher Advisor Award
Winner: Hayley Dureau, Mount Waverley Secondary College
Runner up: Ash Pike, Northern Bay P-12 College
Second runner up: 
Sarah Kreltszheim, Brighton Secondary College

Whole School Approach to Student Voice Award
Winner: Bendigo South East College
Runner up: Swan Hill Primary School
Second runner up: 
St Kevin's Primary School Lower Templestowe

Newsboys Foundation Youth Leadership Award
Winner: Roghayeh Sadeghi, Northern Bay P-12 College
Runners up: Tess Shacklock, Templestowe College, and Anamika Chowdhury, The Mac.Robertson Girls' High School

Chapter 3: Join the roar of student voices

Student voice is critical in education. The VicSRC Recognition Awards take on extra significance in 2015 as we mark 10 years of VicSRC and Congress, with the roar of student voices building over a decade of student-led advocacy and action. It’s a big year which has given us a chance to celebrate where we have been and how far meaningful student voice and representation has come in the last ten years.

We had the pleasure of working with a judging panel who truly value student voice in education.  Our thanks goes to Demi Irwin (VicSRC Executive member), representatives from the Department of Education and Training, Sandy Shaw (CEO, Newsboys Foundation) and Zich Zichy-Woinarski Q.C. (Chairman, Newsboys Foundation) for your time and commitment during the selection process.

We also thank the Department of Education and Training, under the leadership of Minister for Education James Merlino MP, and the Newsboys Foundation for their fantastic support of the VicSRC Recognition Awards.

We welcome any and all feedback. If you were part of the Recognition Awards this year, please complete short survey to help us make next year’s celebration even bigger and better: share your feedback via SurveyMonkey

Students are at the centre of everything we do. We’ve come so far in ten years, and we’re so driven by how far we can go together. Keep the stories and the action and the advocacy coming.

When we challenge expectations of what students can do, the possibilities are limitless!

VicSRC Recognition Awards


eNews Subscribe

Membership & Partnership 

Join us!