The Wrap Up: 2014 VicSRC Recognition Awards

15 finalists, 14 schools, 1 Minister for Education, over 100 friends, family and supporters and a room full to the brim with inspiring, driven individuals. The 2014 VicSRC Recognition Awards was spectacular. And may we say: What. A. View!

2014 VicSRC Recognition Awards Finalists with Minister Dixon

"Some days, the world is either for you or against you. When it's against you, be patient. When it's for you, be humble."
- Sophie Williams, Student Leader of the Year

It's not often you can say you're on top of the world. But on Wednesday 22nd October 2014, the phrase was true in more ways than one. High above the city of Melbourne with panoramic views stretching from Fed Square to Eureka Tower, the Sidney Myer Music Bowl to Port Phillip Bay and beyond, we celebrated the 2014 VicSRC Recognition Awards. In the Sir Redmond Barry Room high about Melbourne town, the city, the sun and finally the stars were our backdrop as we recognised best practice in student voice in Victoria.

Joined by the Minister for Education, the Hon. Martin Dixon MP, representatives from the Department of Education and Early Childhood Development, VicSRC supporters and volunteers, teachers, family, friends and most importantly, students, we set about the business of celebrating. Time and time again, our finalists blew us away with their dedication, humour and profound commitment to student voice, leadership and meaningful participation.

We received over 50 applications from 28 schools across the state. Our fifteen finalists were selected as the top three nominations in each of our five categories. Every single one of our finalists walked away a winner, with prizes to invest in their SRC and student voice activities. Check out all our winning videos - they are well worth a look!

We are delighted to congratulate the following individuals and schools for their absolutely outstanding - and ongoing - achievements:

Student Leader of the Year

  • Winner: Sophie Williams, Highview College
  • First Runner Up: Jazzy Burke, Benalla P-12 College
  • Second Runner Up: Isobelle Mannix, Bendigo Senior Secondary College

Group Action Award

  • Winner: Fitzroy High School Feminist Collective
  • First Runner Up: Keysborough College - Banksia Campus
  • Second Runner Up: Northern Bay College - Peacock Campus

Outstanding SRC of the Year

  • Winner: Bendigo South East College
  • First Runner Up: Heatherwood School
  • Second Runner Up: Swan Hill Primary School

SRC Teacher Advisor Award

  • Winner: Joanne Howe, The Mac.Robertson Girls' High School
  • First Runner Up: Samuel Cavnoudias, Haileybury College\
  • Second Runner Up: Dianne Parkinson, Narre Warren South P-12 College

Whole School Focus on Student Voice Award

  • Winner: Malvern Central School
  • First Runner Up: Narre Warren South P-12 College
  • Second Runner Up: Yarram Secondary College

Our finalists came from far and wide - from regional and metropolitan Victoria, from primary schools and secondary schools, from private and government schools. They showcased stories of student-led action by SRCs and other student groups, of schools challenging restricted understandings of the importance of student voice, and of SRCs working hard to ensure the authenticity of shared decision-making between students and teachers.The sense of collective purpose and drive was a palpable presence as we celebrated each others' experiences.

"Who better to create feminist resources for high school students than high school students who are feminists?!"
- Zsuzsa and Stella, members of the Fitzroy High School Feminist Collective

We had the pleasure of working with a dedicated panel, which had the difficult job of selecting the finalists; we thank Samantha Chapman (VicSRC Executive member), Leah Bramhill (DEECD), and Roger Holdsworth (Connect magazine) for their time and energy during the difficult selection process. We thank the Department of Education and Early Childhood Development (DEECD) under the leadership of the Minister for Education, Hon. Martin Dixon, for supporting the VicSRC Recognition Awards. We also extend our thanks to Second Strike, Connect, the Victorian Institute of SRC Teachers (VISTA) and the Youth Affairs Council of Victoria (YACVic), under which VicSRC is auspiced. A hige thank you goes to our wonderful musicians on the night - Thomas Vu, Julia Vu, Peter Le and Tien Nguyen, Tess Shacklock and Ayla Scurrah.

As the peak body representing students in Victoria, we are thrilled to celebrate best practice in student voice, student led action and student participation. Events like the 2014 VicSRC Recognition Awards emphasize the depth, breadth and capacity of students, SRCs and their teacher advisors across the state. Last but by no means least, we thank all the individuals and schools who nominated for the 2014 VicSRC Recognition Awards. We are continually inspired and motivated by you every day.

We really value any and all feedback. If you haven’t already had the chance, we’d be grateful if you could complete a quick survey to help us make next year even bigger and better:

Thank you for supporting student voice and student leadership in Victoria! In the words of Margaret Tran, VicSRC Executive member and student speaker:

"Kid, you'll move mountains!"
- Dr Suess

2014 VicSRC Recognition Awards

eNews Subscribe

Membership & Partnership 

Join us!